Miami City X

Latest version: v1.9 (2018)

Post Reply
FlyAndFight
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Saturday 29 Sep 2012, 01:38
Location: Miami, FL

Post by FlyAndFight » Monday 17 Nov 2014, 02:02

Hello!

Is there a way to have just the buildings appear but not the photoscenery? I would like to have the buildings appear over the default scenery, if possible.

Thank you

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4703
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Monday 17 Nov 2014, 06:08

Sure, simply remove 2 largest BGL files (there is a separate photoscenery for the downtown only)
Image

FlyAndFight
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Saturday 29 Sep 2012, 01:38
Location: Miami, FL

Post by FlyAndFight » Sunday 30 Nov 2014, 18:59

Thank you!!

Tim/Rodeo314
13-25 posts
13-25 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Wednesday 07 Jan 2015, 20:56
Location: LSGG

Post by Tim/Rodeo314 » Monday 12 Jan 2015, 19:56

Hi, any plans and/or ETA for porting this to X-Plane?

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4703
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Tuesday 13 Jan 2015, 11:39

Hi.
Well, I believe there are a few thinks at KMIA needed to be updated prior to any porting work. Am I right?
Image

Tim/Rodeo314
13-25 posts
13-25 posts
Posts: 13
Joined: Wednesday 07 Jan 2015, 20:56
Location: LSGG

Post by Tim/Rodeo314 » Tuesday 13 Jan 2015, 14:31

DD Stanislaw wrote:Hi.
Well, I believe there are a few thinks at KMIA needed to be updated prior to any porting work. Am I right?
No clue (I don't know the airport very well, though I guess there were some changes recently). Since my brother lives there, I do like to fly to KMIA regularly, and what freeware is available for X-Plane at the moment is OK but not great (also, I don't think there's any X-Plane package covering the city yet).

There's also Butnaru's payware KMIA, but if your package is going to be ported I think I'd rather get it than the former.

777simmer
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Sunday 04 May 2014, 08:03
Location: Europe

Post by 777simmer » Wednesday 29 Apr 2015, 13:09

Hi there,

I bought Miami a little while ago and installed it last week.

Now, every time I start a flight at KMIA, FSX crashes later on when I exit FSX.
(I have not flown over the area yet, so I do not know if I have other problems as well)

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: fsx.exe
Application Version: 10.0.61637.0
Application Timestamp: 46fadb14
Fault Module Name: ai_player.dll
Fault Module Version: 10.0.61637.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 46fadb57
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00037489
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789



I installed KMIA to a folder I created myself (so not the default location)....maybe this could be the cause?

most other addons are off at the moment (no track IR, No OpusFSI weather engine, etc).

MyTrafficX, UTX and GEX are installed and active but do not cause problems as far as I know.

I also installed the real Air Duke aircraft on the same day, but since I also have this app crash if I load KMIA with the default trike and since I dont have an appcrash when I load the realair Duke at other airports I think this appcrash is related to Miami rather than the Duke.

I am thinking about trying an uninstall/reinstall of Miami to the default location.

I would appriciate any suggestions you guys can think of.

Thx.

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4703
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Wednesday 29 Apr 2015, 13:55

Hello Rob.
Just try to deactivate the scenery from Scenery Library and try everything you do with these settings.
Image

777simmer
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Sunday 04 May 2014, 08:03
Location: Europe

Post by 777simmer » Thursday 30 Apr 2015, 06:00

Thx for the fast reply Stanislaw,

In my FSX scenery library I have 4 entries for Miami.
-Miami City 2012 X - KTMB
-Miami City 2012 X - KOPF
-Miami City 2012 X - KMIA
-Miami City 2012 X - The City

As soon as I untick (disable) KMIA, the problem is solved.
No more app crash when closing FSX after starting a flight from KMIA.

I will try to add pics.
Maybe you can see something wrong.

What settings did you want me to try?

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4703
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Thursday 30 Apr 2015, 06:33

Well, this is the first case of CTD at our KMIA reported... and since the product is available already for a few years, it is most probably related to some specific, individual features of your setup (wheather software or hardware). It is really hard for me to diagnoze such cases...

When these type of problems occur, the easiest and the most efficient way to determine a file causing the crash is to remove BGLs (half each time) untill you find the very file that causes the problem. It takes some time indeed and it needs to be performed by a customer, but it does really work. Otherwise it is just guessing which may not give any results...
Image

777simmer
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Sunday 04 May 2014, 08:03
Location: Europe

Post by 777simmer » Thursday 30 Apr 2015, 08:13

Ok I see.

As I said, I wanted to post some pics from what things look like over here.
I am not sure KMIA looks right.

If I have only KMIA active in the scenery library, the airport does not look like an addon airport.

If I have only THE CITY active, then all of a sudden KMIA does look like an addon airport....much better.

Not sure if this is normal.

Can I email you two pics to look at?
(My fsfiles.org account seems to be deleted otherwise I would have used that)

[ Added: Thu Apr 30, 2015 09:07 ]
I could not find an uninstall routine for MIAMI.

So I just deactivated all MIAMI items from my scenery library and then reinstalled.

Same problem....still app crash.....so I guess the fact that I installed to my own created Miami folder had nothing to do with it.

[ Added: Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:13 ]
Ok, I am getting somewhere.

With all traffic sliders to zero I dont get the Appcrash.
So It has something to do with Miami and AITraffic.

I have removed the KOPF, KMIA and KTMB_Static.bgl files....but that did not help.
As sson as I put the FSX sliders back for AI Traffic I get that app crash again.

Are there any other files in Miami that could conflict with AI traffic?

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4703
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Thursday 30 Apr 2015, 08:26

In this case you can try removing the AFCAD file of that airport (where airport layout is located).
Image

777simmer
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Sunday 04 May 2014, 08:03
Location: Europe

Post by 777simmer » Thursday 30 Apr 2015, 19:08

I cant find any AFCAD file.

Did you mean the AFX_KMIA.bgl file?

I removed that and then the problem is gone...no more AI_Player.dll appcrash.

Ofcourse I do not know what I am missing now from KMIA.
I can live with missing some parking positions but I would like to have current runway layout, navaids and lighting systems for KMIA.....do I still have that with AFX_KMIA.bgl removed?

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4703
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Friday 01 May 2015, 03:39

Ok. In this case the cause may be another AFCAD file installed at any active directory of your FSX sceneries. AFCAD files are commonly installed by AI-traffic software. Please check for that. Some instructions on how to do that:

https://shop.nmgtrading.com/index.php?r ... UL1JMYcQUF
Image

777simmer
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 6
Joined: Sunday 04 May 2014, 08:03
Location: Europe

Post by 777simmer » Friday 01 May 2015, 10:25

I read about the duplicate AFCAD file problem over at the Mytraffic forum as well.

And I removed the BR2_KMIA.bgl file (from the MyTraffic/scenery folder) but still that AFX_KMIA.bgl file, makes crash on exit :-(

Just to be sure I also removed the MyTraffic BR2_KTMB and BR2_KOPF.bgl file but same same.

I checked with the AFX demo version and I have no other AFCAD versions for any of the three airports mentioned (other than stock ofcourse).

So apperantely there is something in AFX_KMIA.bgl that my AI traffic does not like.

Since I seem to be the only one with this problem, what I will do next is go back to an earlier image I took of Win7 and FSX and then I will try to install KMIA again, fresh.

But I wont have the time for that for a while :-)

In the mean time, if you could advice me of the the things I am missing if I leave the AFX_KMIA.bgl file out?!

Post Reply