EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Latest version: v1.96 (2018)

Post Reply
User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4764
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by DD Stanislaw » Wednesday 26 Sep 2018, 11:33

Hi.
Usually something like this is caused by double Scenery Library (scenery.cfg) entries. Please look into the file (or send it to me) to check for those double entries.
Image

jtbetteridge
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Tuesday 25 Sep 2018, 09:06
Name: Jeremy

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by jtbetteridge » Wednesday 26 Sep 2018, 20:17

Thank you. Which folder is it in? The scenery.cfg in FSX main folder doesn't seem to show any addon scenery.

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4764
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by DD Stanislaw » Thursday 27 Sep 2018, 05:04

I would firstly check the Scenery Library inside the sim.
The scenery.cfg is usually located in C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\FSX .
Image

jtbetteridge
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Tuesday 25 Sep 2018, 09:06
Name: Jeremy

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by jtbetteridge » Tuesday 02 Oct 2018, 11:11

Hi thanks again. The EPWA entry reads:

[Area.139]
Title=EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X
Local=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FSX\Addon Scenery\EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X
Active=True
Remote=
Required=False
Layer=198

I can't see any other conflicting entry

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4764
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by DD Stanislaw » Wednesday 03 Oct 2018, 03:36

Hi.
There are 3 ways to make the installed scenery dissapear from the sim:

1. Make the scenery.cfg entries double
2. Change scenery path to a wrong one
3. Switch Scenery Complecity below Normal

Something wrong might also happen if DX10 Preview mode is enabled. Those are probably all possible ways.
Image

jtbetteridge
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Tuesday 25 Sep 2018, 09:06
Name: Jeremy

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by jtbetteridge » Wednesday 03 Oct 2018, 14:54

Do you need more info from me because I don't understand what to do?

jtbetteridge
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Tuesday 25 Sep 2018, 09:06
Name: Jeremy

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by jtbetteridge » Thursday 04 Oct 2018, 15:29

I just searched the whole C Drive and found this file:

AFX_EPWA_ALT.bgl

in here:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FSX\scenery\World\scenery

It was created over a year before I installed the DD scenery. Do you think it is the issue?

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4764
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by DD Stanislaw » Friday 05 Oct 2018, 04:48

Hi.
Negative, that file is fine.
Did you check potential causes which I have mentioned above?

1. Double entries in the library
2. Wrong path to the scenery folder
3. Scenery compexity below Normal
4. DX10 enabled
Image

jtbetteridge
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Tuesday 25 Sep 2018, 09:06
Name: Jeremy

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by jtbetteridge » Saturday 06 Oct 2018, 10:56

Hi,
1- Can't see any duplicates
2 - the path is this in the cfg file:[Area.139]
Title=EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X
Local=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FSX\Addon Scenery\EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X
Active=True
Remote=
Required=False
Layer=198
3 - Scenery complexity is very dense
4 - not enabled.

What is odd is that no entry appears in the scenery library in FSX Steam, and the only evidence that the scenery has been installed is in the Addon Scenery folder

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4764
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by DD Stanislaw » Monday 08 Oct 2018, 03:05

jtbetteridge wrote:
Saturday 06 Oct 2018, 10:56
no entry appears in the scenery library in FSX
Well, this means that the scenery is not installed. Are you sure you are looking at the correct scenery.cfg file?
You may try adding it manually to the Scenery Library.
Image

jtbetteridge
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Tuesday 25 Sep 2018, 09:06
Name: Jeremy

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by jtbetteridge » Monday 08 Oct 2018, 06:33

I think it is the right one that you directed me to.
I tried to manually add it but it would not lost, saying they're is already a path to that scenery.
I'm confused. I've never had this problem with over fifty other sceneries!

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4764
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by DD Stanislaw » Monday 08 Oct 2018, 06:56

Please send me your scenery.cfg .
The probable thing is that the same path is assigned to another scenery for some reason. The easiest way to check that is to read the whole scenery.cfg .
Image

User avatar
Martin_Starski
200+ posts
200+ posts
Posts: 892
Joined: Monday 24 Sep 2012, 11:11
Name: Marcin
Location: Warszawa

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by Martin_Starski » Monday 08 Oct 2018, 15:03

jtbetteridge wrote:
Saturday 06 Oct 2018, 10:56
2 - the path is this in the cfg file:[Area.139]
Title=EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X
Local=C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\FSX\Addon Scenery\EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X
Active=True
Remote=
Required=False
Layer=198
I'm not sure if my way of thinking is correct but If the path is correct and in cfg there is the word "REMOTE=", please change it into the word "LOCAL=", save and check if the problem is solved.

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4764
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by DD Stanislaw » Monday 08 Oct 2018, 16:43

This line can actually be remove or changed to:
Remote=False
Image

jtbetteridge
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 9
Joined: Tuesday 25 Sep 2018, 09:06
Name: Jeremy

Re: EPWA Warsaw Chopin Airport X

Post by jtbetteridge » Tuesday 09 Oct 2018, 09:22

Done that, then reloaded the scenery but no change. No scenery and the attempt to manually load it to the library is rejected saying that the path to EPWA already exists.
Did you have a look at the cfg?

Post Reply