EETN Tallinn v2 XP

Latest version: v2.05 (2018)

Post Reply
User avatar
Moter
50-99 posts
50-99 posts
Posts: 64
Joined: Tuesday 25 Nov 2014, 09:41
Location: Gomel, Belarus

Post by Moter » Saturday 29 Nov 2014, 10:27

theOlmn wrote:Hi, when i loaded EETN.zip from simmarket, my imac said that unzipping failed. I unzipped the package then manually. I could try to download that .rar version, if you have link for me Stanislaw. That scenery works now though with Wigry's temporary fix advise, that Navaids are overwritten by x-planes own navaids.
Maybe the problem with NAVIDS associated with poor unpacking scenery?

theOlmn
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 18 Nov 2014, 14:08
Location: Oulu, Finland

Post by theOlmn » Saturday 29 Nov 2014, 20:33

Yes, maybe its because of that. I know at least one more Mac user how has the same problem. Definitely its Mac related. Im running the scenery now with default x-plane navaids, it works but there is that NDB-mast at 08 final. If you find a proper solution for that navaid-problem, nice. At least it works now somehow, thanks to Wigry. Im sure that you, guys of Drzewiecki design who developed this scenery will sort it out eventually. I'll update it when you solve the problem, until then, i'll be happy and use this working solution which isnt perfect but works. ;)

Garrappachc
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wednesday 26 Nov 2014, 23:08
Location: Kraków

Post by Garrappachc » Monday 01 Dec 2014, 01:21

This is definetly not related to Mac only. It happens here on Linux, too. I am missing Documents and other files, too.

[ Added: Mon Dec 01, 2014 01:21 ]
Just please fix the package... I wanna test the scenery I bought...

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4761
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Monday 01 Dec 2014, 05:02

Ok, so what is the exact size of the ZIP you have downloaded and how many single files does it contain? There should be 8740 files and the size should be around 380 MB (388 882 B). The archive is unpacking without any problems on Win systems that is why I have ask about compression methods supported by Mac/Linux. There are 4 types of compression WinZIP can implement plus one legacy compression compatible with Zip 2.0 .
Image

Garrappachc
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wednesday 26 Nov 2014, 23:08
Location: Kraków

Post by Garrappachc » Monday 01 Dec 2014, 07:11

I will show you exactly what my system reports.
Its size is exactly 388881042 bytes.

Code: Select all

ls -l EETN_Tallinn_XP_Mac-Linux.zip
http://sprunge.us/iJGJ

What zip sees inside (note that this is just zip manifest, it shows what files should be in the archive):

Code: Select all

unzip -l EETN_Tallinn_XP_Mac-Linux.zip
http://sprunge.us/CXOK

After unpacking it files are different, though.

I will look for different types of compression. But honestly, never had any problems with zip packages.

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4761
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Monday 01 Dec 2014, 07:40

Well, I do not have any of these systems so I would appreciate if you could look into that. As far as I know however, there is a way to launch windows exe installers in Mac, using a third-party software.
Image

Garrappachc
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wednesday 26 Nov 2014, 23:08
Location: Kraków

Post by Garrappachc » Wednesday 03 Dec 2014, 09:31

Ok, I found the solution. Default program to unzip files on Linux is a simple binary called "unzip". And it doesn't work with that archive. If you, however, use p7zip (which is intended to support 7z archives, but is capable of unzipping zip files, too) it extracts it perfectly. It is more workaround than a solution, though. All Linux files browsers (such as Dolphin, Nautilus, Thunar) will use unzip - and that won't work. You have to use 7z from the command line. I do think there are ways to create a valid zip package under Windows - I did it a number of times, never had any problems.

The next problem is with these NAVAIDs mentioned here before. X-Plane crashes on startup reporting that it couldn't load file "lib/airport/NAVAIDS/NDB_3.obj".

[ Added: Wed Dec 03, 2014 09:31 ]
Any chance to have these NAVAIDs fixed?

User avatar
Moter
50-99 posts
50-99 posts
Posts: 64
Joined: Tuesday 25 Nov 2014, 09:41
Location: Gomel, Belarus

Post by Moter » Wednesday 03 Dec 2014, 10:06

I'm trying to find a solution with the NAVIDS
MAC users, check this https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxQMlD ... sp=sharing
Copy to X-Plane10\Custom Scenery\ and add line
SCENERY_PACK Custom Scenery/1.Drzewiecki_Design_Library/
to top scenery_packs.ini

Garrappachc
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Wednesday 26 Nov 2014, 23:08
Location: Kraków

Post by Garrappachc » Wednesday 03 Dec 2014, 19:52

Moter wrote:I'm trying to find a solution with the NAVIDS
MAC users, check this https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxQMlD ... sp=sharing
Copy to X-Plane10\Custom Scenery\ and add line
SCENERY_PACK Custom Scenery/1.Drzewiecki_Design_Library/
to top scenery_packs.ini
Doesn't work for me; I use Linux, though.

theOlmn
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 18 Nov 2014, 14:08
Location: Oulu, Finland

Post by theOlmn » Thursday 04 Dec 2014, 17:15

Moter wrote:I'm trying to find a solution with the NAVIDS
MAC users, check this https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxQMlD ... sp=sharing
Copy to X-Plane10\Custom Scenery\ and add line
SCENERY_PACK Custom Scenery/1.Drzewiecki_Design_Library/
to top scenery_packs.ini
Didn't work for me also, OSX mac

User avatar
Moter
50-99 posts
50-99 posts
Posts: 64
Joined: Tuesday 25 Nov 2014, 09:41
Location: Gomel, Belarus

Post by Moter » Thursday 04 Dec 2014, 20:52

Please help me fix this issue
Download WED from http://developer.x-plane.com/tools/worldeditor/
1. Select 1.Drzewiecki_Design_Library
2. Click open scenery package
3. Go to this folder, select every object and see at viewport (4) (in viewport operates drag and zoom via mouse)
what you see?
Image

theOlmn
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 18 Nov 2014, 14:08
Location: Oulu, Finland

Post by theOlmn » Friday 05 Dec 2014, 17:17

Hi Matthew, just trying to follow your instructions but i can't find even that library. Man, i really suck with computers :oops: , can't even follow simple instructions how to do something. The WED interface looks bit different at my computer than in that picture your previous message.

User avatar
Moter
50-99 posts
50-99 posts
Posts: 64
Joined: Tuesday 25 Nov 2014, 09:41
Location: Gomel, Belarus

Post by Moter » Saturday 06 Dec 2014, 14:51

theOlmn wrote:Hi Matthew, just trying to follow your instructions but i can't find even that library. Man, i really suck with computers :oops: , can't even follow simple instructions how to do something. The WED interface looks bit different at my computer than in that picture your previous message.

Maybe click View-Restore frames in WED?

theOlmn
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 8
Joined: Tuesday 18 Nov 2014, 14:08
Location: Oulu, Finland

Post by theOlmn » Saturday 06 Dec 2014, 18:37

Ok, found them. But can't see nothing in that view screen. Did select every object but nothing.

User avatar
Moter
50-99 posts
50-99 posts
Posts: 64
Joined: Tuesday 25 Nov 2014, 09:41
Location: Gomel, Belarus

Post by Moter » Saturday 06 Dec 2014, 20:41

theOlmn wrote:Ok, found them. But can't see nothing in that view screen. Did select every object but nothing.
This means that the library.txt is operating normally. Now need to find the reason why X-Plane can not find objects...
Please attach Log.txt

Post Reply