New York City X

Latest version: v2.3 (2017)

Post Reply
User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4238
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Friday 10 Mar 2017, 02:38

Indeed, they should be there just as you have them in the FSX version. I simply thought that the library file might be missing but this is not the case.
Image

edkap
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Thursday 09 Mar 2017, 00:04
Location: NY, USA

Post by edkap » Friday 10 Mar 2017, 07:04

Any possible suggestions for what to try? I originally installed the scenery along with Megascenery Earth NY state v3 and Megascenery New York Ultrares (New York City area), so I deactivated those to see if it made any difference. It didn't. Can you verify that the features I am missing do indeed show up on your computers in P3D? I know the scenery has been out for a while, but is it possible there is bug in the P3D version?

[ Added: Fri Mar 10, 2017 02:04 ]
Stanislaw-
I figured out what was wrong. Started thinking about your instruction to put that file in the NAME scenery folder and then I realized that I had that scenery folder deactivated in P3D. Not sure why I did it, maybe because I was flying on the west coast recently and I try to deactivate any scenery areas that I won't be using to cut down scenery loading time. In any event, I checked it off and activated it, and lo and behold.. now all the bridges (and Yankee Stadium) are there. So all is good.
-Ed

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4238
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Saturday 11 Mar 2017, 04:42

Okay, thanks for the info. :P
Image

edkap
5-12 posts
5-12 posts
Posts: 11
Joined: Thursday 09 Mar 2017, 00:04
Location: NY, USA

Post by edkap » Sunday 12 Mar 2017, 05:05

BTW, wonderful scenery! Take it from a native New Yorker.

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4238
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Monday 13 Mar 2017, 03:01

Thanks!
Image

AtilaN
0-1 posts
0-1 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Sunday 30 Apr 2017, 07:18
Location: Türkiye

Post by AtilaN » Sunday 30 Apr 2017, 07:29

NY City X (nor the demo) does not install "...registry key not found for FSX..." I am using FSX SP2 (not P3D) 64 bit Windows 10. Is there a solution to have the installer work? After all this is a $ 40 addon. Please help.

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4238
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Sunday 30 Apr 2017, 08:35

Hi.
This means that the installation of your FSX is faulty since no registry entries are present. This is not a problem with our product but with your FSX installation (and the price of our product have nothing to do with it, the proclem would be the same if it costed 5$). In this case you can do 3 things:

1. Use this method to add a proper registry key: http://drzewiecki-design.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=293 (preferred)
2. Manually create the required key in the registry
3. Reinstall FSX to create the keys automatically
Image

mac2
2-4 posts
2-4 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sunday 07 May 2017, 17:38
Location: london

New York CIty v2

Post by mac2 » Sunday 07 May 2017, 21:50

Just tried to run a scenario using the New York city scenery and got a OOM error (now happens every time I start in NYC) - in addition it looks like some of the land has been corrupted (water where there should be land) around the manhattann area - any idea on how to solve this? (note am running P3dv3 and also running it in VR using flyinside and also running a few of the Orbx add ons such as vector and global) - also worth noting it previously ran ok.....

[ Added: Sun May 07, 2017 21:50 ]
Also - please can you let me know the best way to uninstall New York City scenery? (is it through add remove programs in windows?) and another observation (I just purchased Washington x which does work without any OOM) - I noticed with both of these (NYC when I managed to get it working) I occasionally got a split second of black on the textures for the buildings - not so much in Washington but it was particularly noticeable in NYC particularly flying around manhattan.

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4238
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Monday 08 May 2017, 09:40

The OOM issue depends on your hardware and sim settings, please read this: http://drzewiecki-design.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=337

Regarding texture loading, please install the Lite Texture Pack, with it textures will load much faster.
Image

mac2
2-4 posts
2-4 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sunday 07 May 2017, 17:38
Location: london

Post by mac2 » Monday 08 May 2017, 18:37

thanks will have a look through the guide - its really strange that I get OOM's as I never get them using any other scenery even when using some of the PDMG planes - just wondering if it might be as easy as disabling some of the other scenery (I have most of the Orbx add ons) in the scenery library?
Will give the light texture pack I try - but my machine is relatively high spec (really built for vr - with x2 980ti's and a ssd for P3D so not really sure why it should struggle with the DD scenery......
In terms of my other issue - which seems to be some of the water where land should be in the NYC area what do you suggest (do have the Orbx vector and already ran the elevations tool - seems to be a possible cause) - still I get it? and also if I want to just try a reinstall what is the best way to remove the NYC X?

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4238
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Tuesday 09 May 2017, 00:30

Yes, the NY package is one of the most complex sceneries on the market, hence why the Lite Texture Pack was provided.

Please send me a screenshot of that water issue, not sure I understand how does it look like.
Image

mac2
2-4 posts
2-4 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sunday 07 May 2017, 17:38
Location: london

Post by mac2 » Thursday 11 May 2017, 21:45

ok can PM you a screenshot - have had a similar issue before but seem to remember it might have been related to vector by orbx (think one of the airfields I was flying was off elevation) - but have in this case already ran the correction tool....
Also if I want try and uninstall then install again - what is best way to uninstall it?

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4238
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Friday 12 May 2017, 02:26

Usually it is enough to simply remove the Scenery Library entry (or to deactivate the entry).
Image

Schumifan
2-4 posts
2-4 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Thursday 28 Nov 2013, 17:38
Location: Gera, Germany

Prepar3D V4

Post by Schumifan » Wednesday 24 May 2017, 16:33

Hello Stansilaw,
Yesterday Lockhead Martin announced Prepar3D V4. It seems to be a completly new product with 64bit-architecture.
Will your scenerys - specially New York City and New York Airports be compatible with this new Version?
Best regards
Marco

User avatar
DD Stanislaw
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4238
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Wednesday 31 May 2017, 12:45

Hi.
Aproppriate comments will be published asap. As for now v4 is not oficially supported but it definitely will be soon.
Image

Post Reply