Baku 2017

Latest version: v1.0 (2016)

User avatar
DD Stanislaw

Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Baku 2017

Post by DD Stanislaw » Sunday 29 May 2016, 05:07

Baku 2017 by Drzewiecki Design
More info at/Więcej na: http://www.drzewiecki-design.net/prodBaku2017.htm

English and Polish discussion and support in this topic / Dyskusja po polsku i po angielsku w tym temacie.

ImageImageImage
Image

User avatar
DD Stanislaw

Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Sunday 29 May 2016, 05:08

The product will probably be available tomorrow (depends on stores).
Image

User avatar
DD Stanislaw

Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Monday 30 May 2016, 08:01

The product is now available at Simmarket. Have fun!
Image

ArtAir

5-12 posts
Posts: 5
Joined: Wednesday 06 Mar 2013, 08:50
Location: Russia

Post by ArtAir » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 04:24

Thank you Stanislaw!

edetroit

13-25 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Monday 24 Feb 2014, 16:53
Location: London, U.K

Post by edetroit » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 05:49

Reports that the installer created a new scenery.cfg file with duplicate area numbers... this will crash the sim.

User avatar
DD Stanislaw

Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 06:22

A new scenery.cfg in FS2004 direction? This is hardly possible... This never happened before and we use the same script for quite a long time. Unless something was wrong with that file or FS9 was running during install - in this case anything is possible...
Image

edetroit

13-25 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Monday 24 Feb 2014, 16:53
Location: London, U.K

Post by edetroit » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 15:20

Ok only two reports so far. Waiting to her if there are any more.

[ Added: Tue May 31, 2016 16:20 ]
Report number three: "The installer also created duplicate area entries in my scenery.cfg file (repeating area numbers already in use)"

User avatar
DD Stanislaw

Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 16:04

Edward, where do you get those reports from? Any way to have a personal contact with those guys?
Image

edetroit

13-25 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Monday 24 Feb 2014, 16:53
Location: London, U.K

Post by edetroit » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 17:13


User avatar
DD Stanislaw

Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 17:27

Oh, isn't it better to write on the developer's forum? Secondly - guys are trying to install our product in some completely unconventional ways. Also having 1000+ scenery areas in Scenery Library is simply rediculous and that person also wrote that other installers get confused too. So nothing wrong regarding our scenery whatsoever.
Image

GAPUTZ

2-4 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Wednesday 07 Nov 2012, 05:00
Location: Regina, Canada

Post by GAPUTZ » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 18:04

It was me who posted double entry comments in response to a general discussion over at the AVSIM forum. I did not post anything in the developer forum because I saw this as a small annoyance peculiar to my own set up. I hope you noticed that I also said that Baku is a great FS9 scenery. I wanted to respond here to ensure that you don't take away the wrong impression that my comments over at AVSIM were a complaint. In fact my initial impressions of Baku are very positive and I'd recommend it to all FS9 users. It is visually impressive and provides very good performance. I look forward to exploring the whole country. I stumbled upon this post when I came to the forum in the first place to congratulate you. So, in closing, thank you very much for another wonderful FS9 scenery! Job well done.

Greg

edetroit

13-25 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Monday 24 Feb 2014, 16:53
Location: London, U.K

Post by edetroit » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 18:17

As you can imagine as FS9 simmers we have been around for a long time and know our sim very well. Our experience (certainly mine) of the DD forums is that our posts get deleted. So we like to discuss problems in a more friendly place before coming back to you.
I'm sure the Baku scenery will be a big hit with FS niners.

I started the post at avsim to promote your scenery as we have all been looking forward to it.🙂

GeyerH

26-49 posts
Posts: 39
Joined: Tuesday 26 Nov 2013, 10:33
Location: Dresden, Germany

Post by GeyerH » Tuesday 31 May 2016, 20:58

Hi,

after a long download I installed Baku 2017 in two versions: first with static planes and with phototerrain, and then without both of them. In both cases, the installer worked well. Correct entries in scenery.cfg; no crashes. When loading the scenery, I experience superb FPS. Had to chose the version without static aircraft as I have the complete fleet of AZAL and SilkWay as AI. Those show up perfectly at UBBB and are seen at other airports, too.

Only problems that I see:
- quite slow loading of phototerrain while in flight
- some static vehicles at light airports (and only there) without textures, as "american looking" lorries as well as tanks at military airports
- at some of the afcad only airports (and again, only there), I see problems with object shadows (rectangle shadows). Do you recommend to switch them off? I found no advice in the manual.

All in all, a very good scenery. Many thanks!

Harald

P.S. As member of the Avsim forum, I will post these experiences there, too.
P.P.S. Wouldn't it be an idea to extend this scenery to complete Transcaucasia, that means Georgia and Armenia as well?

User avatar
DD Stanislaw

Administrator
Posts: 4181
Joined: Monday 15 May 2006, 10:07
Name: Stanisław
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post by DD Stanislaw » Wednesday 01 Jun 2016, 04:05

Ok ok, I get it. Someone already commented sometime ago that I am similar to a famous WWII leader - deleting anything I don't like. :mrgreen:
GeyerH wrote:quite slow loading of phototerrain while in flight
Indeed, somehow it works much slower than in FSX. I guess this is the way how FS9 handles the photo terrain - anyway I did not do anything non-standard there, simply the area is quite large. Right now I don't see any particular method to fix that unfortunately.
GeyerH wrote:some static vehicles at light airports (and only there) without textures
Oh, ok, I know what this might be, should be fully fixable. Thanks for the report.
GeyerH wrote:extend this scenery to complete Transcaucasia, that means Georgia and Armenia
Well, that would be nice, especially Georgia, but as for now we will put some more attention to updating our Polish Airports packages.
Image

GeyerH

26-49 posts
Posts: 39
Joined: Tuesday 26 Nov 2013, 10:33
Location: Dresden, Germany

Post by GeyerH » Wednesday 01 Jun 2016, 10:50

DD Stanislaw wrote:Well, that would be nice, especially Georgia, but as for now we will put some more attention to updating our Polish Airports packages.
O.k., that's logical, as Georgia seems to be attractive for many Polish people to spend their holidays (thus it's probably interesting as simming destination), but at first the home airport has to be up to date! :D

Post Reply